The Exhibition

Marcel Broodthaers.
A retrospective

04 March – 11 June 2017
K21 Ständehaus

Marcel Broodthaers. A Retrospective presents a major overview of the multifaceted oeuvre of the Belgian artist Marcel Broodthaers (1924 –1976), who formulated an idiosyncratic artistic position within the milieu of Pop, Minimalism, and Conceptual Art. When he was 40 years old, Broodthaers turned from poetry toward visual arts, and soon received acclaim within Europe's avant-garde scene for his displays and cinematographic works, with their stringent criticism of institutions.

This exhibition, which includes more than 400 works in the most diverse genres and media, has been organized meticulously over a period of more than four years by The Museum of Modern Art, New York and the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid. The show finishes in Düsseldorf, a city that did much to promote Broodthaers' brief but highly productive artistic career. Broodthaers not only lived in Düsseldorf (from 1970 – 1972), he also received, assimilated, and reciprocated decisive impulses from the local art scene, which was networked internationally to an optimal degree.

A number of works and exhibitions came to fruition in Düsseldorf, among them the legendary show "Section des Figures" (Section of Figures), organized in 1972 at the Städtische Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, and a component of Broodthaers’ principal work, the Musée d’Art Moderne, Département des Aigles (Museum of Modern Art, Department of Eagles) (1968 –1972).

This long-awaited retrospective of the works of Marcel Broodthaers initiates viewers into a fascinating aesthetic universe – one that regards poetry as a "disturbance of the world order" and an "indirect political question," and that advocates a radically open-ended and processual approach to interpreting art, and hence represents a contribution to an understanding of art that remains valid today.

Organized by The Museum of Modern Art, New York, and the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, Madrid.

The exhibition is organized by Christophe Cherix, The Robert Lehman Chief Curator of Drawings and Prints, The Museum of Modern Art, New York; and Manuel J. Borja-Villel, Director, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía; with Francesca Wilmott, Curatorial Assistant, Department of Drawings and Prints, The Museum of Modern Art, New York.

In K21, Düsseldorf, the show is curated by Doris Krystof. 

Installation view at the K21

photo: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installation view at the K21

photo (detail): Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installation view at the K21

photo: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installation view at the K21

photo: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Previous Next

Catalogue

Catalogue cover, Walther König Edition

Published to accompany the retrospective, the exhibition catalogue examines the artist’s work across all mediums and includes new translations of many of his texts: Marcel Broodthaers. A Retrospective. Edited by Christophe Cherix and Manuel J. Borja-Villel. With an interview by Maria Gilissen and Yola Minatchy. Text by Benjamin H. D. Buchloh, Jean-Francois Chévrier, Thierry de Duve, Doris Krystof, Cathleen Chaffee, Kim Conaty, Rafael García Horrillo, Christian Rattemeyer, Sam Sackeroff, Teresa Velázquez, Francesca Wilmott

German copy: Verlag Walther König, 350 pages, museum's edition 49,90 Euro
English copy: The Museum of Modern Art 2016 (ISBN 978-0-87070-962-3), $75-

Webshop

Exhibition's Opening

03 March 2017
K21 Ständehaus

Free entrance

6.15 p.m.
"L’Entrée de l’Exposition"

A discussion with the curators of the exhibition: Christophe Cherix, The Museum of Modern Art, New York, and Manuel J. Borja-Villel, Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid,  moderated by Doris Krystof, Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen (conducted in English)

7 p.m.
Opening of the Exhibition

Greeting
Anette Kruszynski
Artistic Director of the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen (temporary)

Greeting
Martin Hoernes
General Secretary, Ernst von Siemens Foundation, Munich

Introduction
Maria Gilissen-Broodthaers and Doris Krystof, Curator

Installation view at the K21, photo: Achim Kukulies

Accompanying program

Futur 3 at the Schmela Haus, photo: Katja Illner

The exhibition will be accompanied by a wide-ranging program, including guided tours, lectures, interviews, seminars, and workshops.

Some of the talks at Futur 3 program series will be held in English language.

Please see the German version of this site for detailled information.

Die Ausstellung

Marcel Broodthaers.
Eine Retrospektive

K21 Ständehaus
04.03 – 11.06.2017

Marcel Broodthaers. Eine Retrospektive ist eine große Überblicksschau über das facettenreiche Werk des belgischen Künstlers Marcel Broodthaers (1924 –1976), der im Umfeld von Pop, Minimal und Konzeptkunst eine eigenwillige, kritische Position formuliert. Broodthaers wandte sich im Alter von vierzig Jahren von der Dichtung kommend der bildenden Kunst zu und fand mit seinen installativen, kinematografischen und institutionskritischen Arbeiten innerhalb kürzester Zeit großen Anklang in der avantgardistischen Kunstszene Europas.

Die über vier Jahre am Museum of Modern Art, New York, und am Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, sorgfältig entwickelte Ausstellung von über 400 Werken unterschiedlichster Medien und Gattungen findet mit der Düsseldorfer Station ihren Abschluss an dem Ort, der Broodthaers’ kurze, aber höchst produktive künstlerische Karriere weitgehend befördert hat. In Düsseldorf hat Broodthaers nicht nur gelebt (von 1970 bis 1972) und entscheidende Impulse der lokalen, international bestens vernetzten Kunstszene aufgenommen, verarbeitet und zurückgegeben.

In Düsseldorf wurden auch etliche Arbeiten und Ausstellungen realisiert, darunter die zu Broodthaers’ Hauptwerk „Musée d’Art Moderne, Département des Aigles“ (Museum Moderner Kunst, Abteilung Adler), 1968 – 72, gehörende legendäre Schau „Section des Figures“ (Sektion der Figuren), 1972, in der Städtischen Kunsthalle Düsseldorf.

Die lange erwartete Retrospektive von Marcel Broodthaers führt in ein faszinierendes Werk ein, das mit seinem Verständnis von Poesie als „Störung von Weltordnung“, von „Poesie als indirekter politischer Frage“ für eine radikal offene und prozessuale Lesart von Kunst plädierte und damit maßgeblich zu einem bis heute gültigen Verständnis von Kunst beigetragen hat.

 

Marcel Broodthaers. Eine Retrospektive wurde kuratiert von Christophe Cherix, The Robert Lehman Foundation Chief Curator of Drawings and Prints at MoMA, und Manuel J. Borja-Villel, Direktor Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía, zusammen mit Francesca Wilmott, kuratorische Assistenz am Department of Drawing and Prints, MoMA.

In der Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen, Düsseldorf, wird die Ausstellung von der Kuratorin Doris Krystof betreut.

Installationsansicht im K21

Foto: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installationsansicht im K21

Foto (Ausschnitt): Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installationsansicht im K21

Foto: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Installationsansicht im K21

Foto: Achim Kukulies, © Estate of Marcel Broodthaers / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York / SABAM, Brüssel / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2017

Previous Next

Katalog

Cover des Katalogs, Verlag Walther König

Zur Ausstellung erscheint der Katalog Marcel Broodthaers. Eine Retrospektive, hg. von Christophe Cherix und Manuel J. Borja-Villel. Er enthält Farbabbildungen der ausgestellten Werke sowie neue Übersetzungen vieler Texte von Broodthaers. Mit einem Gespräch von Maria Gilissen und Yola Minatchy, Essays von Christophe Cherix und Manuel J. Borja-Villel, Benjamin H. D. Buchloh, Jean-Francois Chévrier, Thierry de Duve und Doris Krystof sowie Beiträgen von Cathleen Chaffee, Kim Conaty, Rafael Garcia Horrillo, Christian Rattemeyer, Sam Sackeroff, Teresa Velázquez und Francesca Wilmott.

Verlag Walther König, 350 Seiten, Museumsausgabe 49,90 Euro, im Buchhandel 55,00 Euro

Webshop

Eröffnung der Ausstellung

03.03.2017
K21 Ständehaus

Eintritt frei.

18.15 Uhr
"L’Entrée de l’Exposition"


Ein Gespräch zur Ausstellungseröffnung mit den Kuratoren Christophe Cherix (The Museum of Modern Art, New York) und Manuel J. Borja-Villel (Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid), moderiert von Doris Krystof, Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen
(in engl. Sprache)

Ab 19.00 Uhr
Eröffnung der Ausstellung

Begrüßung
Anette Kruszynski, Künstlerische Leiterin Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen (kommissarisch)

Grußwort
Martin Hoernes, Generalsekretär der Ernst von Siemens Kunststiftung, München

Einführung
Maria Gilissen-Broodthaers und Doris Krystof, Kuratorin

Installationsansicht, Foto: Achim Kukulies

Im Programm von Futur 3

F3-Veranstaltung im Schmela Haus, Foto: Katja Illner

Veranstaltungsort:
F3 Schmela Haus

Jeweils donnerstags
um 19.00 Uhr

Eintritt frei!

MEHR

09.03.2017
"Marcel Broodthaers – Vom Dichter zum Künstler zum Museumsdirektor und zurück"

Vortrag von Doris Krystof, Kuratorin, Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen

27..04.2017
"Rendezvous mit dem Kustos – Marcel Broodthaers und seine Ideen zu den Dispositiven des Museums"

Vortrag von Sabine Folie, Kunstwissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin, Wien

04.05.2017
»Chers amis« – Broodthaers' Offene Briefe

Vortrag von Gabriele Mackert, Autorin und Kuratorin

18.05.2017
The Tenderness of Maggots.

A play based on 'Les Chants de Maldoror' by Comte de Lautréamont, adapted for the stage by Studio for Propositional Cinema

01.06.2017
Broodthaers – Section Cinéma

Präsentiert und kommentiert.

KPMG-Kunstabend

05.04.2017, 20.00 Uhr
K21 Ständehaus

"J’aime Düsseldorf"
Broodthaers' Jahre am Burgplatz


Jürgen Harten, ehemaliger Direktor der Kunsthalle Düsseldorf und Kurator etlicher Broodthaers-Ausstellungen, im Gespräch mit Doris Krystof

07.06.2017, 20.00 Uhr
K21 Ständehaus

"Plus que 50 ans après – Mehr als 50 Jahre später"

Ein Abend zu Broodthaers' Kontakten ins Rheinland anlässlich der 50. Geburtstage von Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, Art Cologne, Konrad Fischer Galerie und der Ära Johannes Cladders am Städtischen Museum Mönchengladbach.

Mit Gregor Jansen, Direktor Kunsthalle Düsseldorf, Thomas W. Rieger, Direktor Konrad Fischer Galerie, Düsseldorf und Berlin, Susanne Rennert, Kuratorin / Forschungsprojekt Museum Mönchengladbach 1967 – 1978, Düsseldorf, Susanne Titz, Direktorin Museum  Abteiberg, Mönchengladbach, Daniel Hug, Direktor Art Cologne, und Doris Krystof.

Linklaters-Thementag für die ganze Familie

19.03.2017
11.00 –17.00 Uhr

K21 Ständehaus

Eintritt frei.

"Der Adler vom Oligozän bis heute"
Workshops und Führungen im Museum

MEHR


Zusätzliche Veranstaltung:

15.00 –16.30 Uhr
Auf Reisen mit der Flaschenpost von M.B.

Ein experimentelles Gespräch
mit Hannah M. Bruckmüller, Kunsthistorikerin, Wien, und Michal B. Ron, Kunsttheoretikerin, Berlin

Linklaters-Thementag im K21, Foto: Wilfried Meyer