Pablo Picasso, Taube

Art During the War

Pablo Picasso is perhaps the most famous artist of the 20th century. He is the epitome of an independent genius who always broke new ground in art. He was a champion of freedom and a pacifist who also designed the famous peace dove in 1949.

A look back: World War II ravaged Europe from 1939 to 1945. Germany’s occupation of France began in June 1940, when they established a zone in the northern and western part France, and continued when they expanded this in November 1942 to include the South, where Philippe Pétain was the chief of state in Vichy. In both zones, the Jewish population was persecuted without mercy. The Communist Party of France was working underground. There was a shortage of supplies, and food was scarce. How did Picasso live during those war years? What themes did he explore in his art? What did everyday life look like for the Spanish artist who had lived in France, primarily in Paris, for more than three decades by the time the war broke out? Did the horrors of those years leave a trace on his life and work?

Why do you think I date everything I make? Because it’s not enough to know an artist’s works. One must also know when he made them, why, how, under which circumstances.

Between Paris and Royan

The German Wehrmacht attacked Poland on September 1, 1939. France and Great Britain, who had pledged to protect Poland’s independence, declared war against Germany on September 3, 1939. As German troops overran Poland, nothing much occurred in the West, except for a few minor battles. A long period of uncertainty began that was called the phony war, or “drôle de guerre” in French.

Pablo Picasso lived in an apartment in Paris, where he also had a studio. Out of fear of German air raids, he left Paris already on August 29, 1939. He went to the small spa town of Royan on the Atlantic coast in southwestern France together with his lover Dora Maar, his secretary, and his driver.

Pablo Picasso, Sitzende Frau

Entry of the German Wehrmacht June 1944

Living and Working Under
the German Occupation

In June 1940, the German Wehrmacht finally launched a surprise attack on France, occupying Paris on June 14. After Royan was also occupied, Picasso moved back to the French capital on August 25, 1940. Surprisingly, his apartment and studio were undamaged because the embassy of the now fascist Spain had ensured they would be protected. Between September 1940 and January 1941, Picasso did not paint. He made only a few illustrations, and he also created his first play: “Le Désir attrapé par la queue” (Desire Caught by the Tail).

The people who removed his paintings from museum walls may have banned him from exhibiting in Paris, but they couldn’t keep him from painting.

Pablo Picasso, Junge mit Languste

Was it Picasso’s intention to ridicule the art policies of the Nazis with this picture? Despite their having stigmatized him as a so-called degenerate artist, Picasso painted thousands of works during World War II. Apart from a few months, when he produced hardly any works, he worked ceaselessly.

His paintings from this time, like “Boy with Lobster,” inspire many questions. Is this boy smiling because he’s happy, or is he taunting us? Is the lobster a trophy or a weapon? Is it a symbol of resistance against the occupiers? Or is it as a sexual innuendo? Does the boy’s distorted body reflect the terrors of war, or is it simply an expression of excessive vitality? Perhaps all of these interpretations are valid.

Picasso’s Daily Life in Paris

After Picasso left Royan and returned to Paris for good in August 1940, his life revolved mainly around the neighborhood of Saint-Germain-des-Prés. In January 1941, he gave up his apartment on rue La Boétie because it was too far away from his studio on rue des Grands-Augustins. From then on, he both worked and lived in his studio. Dora Maar also lived in this area, which was close to the Seine, in the neighborhood Rive Gauche, as did Picasso’s daughter Maya and her mother Marie-Thérèse Walter. The artist would visit Maya and Marie-Thérèse every Thursday and Sunday. The Le Catalan restaurant was also close to his studio, and he often ate lunch there. Almost every evening, he went to the Café de Flore, which was about a ten-minute walk from his studio. The café was a “warm and friendly refuge,” as his friend the photographer Brassaï said, and a place where he would meet friends from the art and literature scene. Picasso lived in his studio in Paris throughout the entire occupation.

  • 1

    Picasso’s studio

    7 Rue des Grands-Augustins

    Pablo Picasso’s studio, 1944, Henri Cartier-Bresson

    Picasso kept his studio on rue des Grands-Augustins 7 from the end of 1936 to 1955. He also painted the picture “Guernica” there in 1937. After the war, he lived mostly in southern France and only used this studio when he stayed Paris. On the left of this photograph, you can see the plaster version of “Man with Lamb.”

  • 2

    Le Catalan restaurant

    16 Rue des Grands-Augustins

    Pablo Picasso, Das Buffet des Catalan Paris

    Picasso liked to eat out regularly with Dora Maar at the Le Catalan restaurant. The couple also met friends there, like Nusch and Paul Éluard, and other writers. The restaurant’s owner bought food on the black market. The cherries shown here in a fruit bowl were a delicacy during the occupation. Due to the food shortage, meat was allowed only on certain days. Apparently, Picasso and his friends were caught once eating Chateaubriand (steak) at Le Catalan in November 1943 on a day when meat was not allowed. As a result, the owner had to pay a fine and the restaurant was closed for one month. Le Catalan was also where Picasso met the painter Françoise Gilot in 1943, who soon became his new lover.3

  • 3

    Dora Maar’s apartment

    6 Rue de Savoie

    Dora Maar in her studio, 1944, Brassaï

    Picasso got to know Dora Maar in 1935 through the poet Paul Éluard, who was also part of the Surrealist circle in Paris. Dora was a photographer and painter who started her career in fashion and advertising. She was also active in leftist politics and explored socially conscious street photography. After she became interested in Surrealist photography, she created some of the most impressive photographic works of the Surrealism movement. In 1937, she documented the creation of Picasso’s “Guernica.” Her relationship with Picasso lasted until 1943. During their time together, she gave up photography in favor of painting.

  • 4

    Apartment where Picasso’s daughter Maya and her mother Marie-Thérèse Walter lived from the spring of 1941 on

    1, Boulevard Henri IV

    In 1927, Picasso met Marie-Thérèse Walter, who was seventeen years old, in the Galeries Lafayettes. She became his model and secret lover: Picasso was still living with his wife Olga Koklowa at the time. In 1935, their daughter Maya was born.

  • 5

    Le Vert-Galant

    15 Place du Pont Neuf

    Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

    Le Vert-Galant is a small park located on the island of Île de la Cité in the Seine. In the middle of the park is an equestrian statue of Henry IV, which you can see in this painting. Picasso often went for walks with his dog Kazbek in the park and along the banks of the Seine. These views inspired him to create many landscape scenes as oil paintings, drawings, and watercolors.

Close-up: Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

Le Vert-Galant: In detail

Picasso could observe many different everyday scenes in the small park Le Vert-Galant on the northwestern tip of the Île de la Cité in Paris. He would capture these in sketches and paintings that reveal nothing of the gray Paris under German occupation as described by contemporary witnesses. The pictures also do not portray the shortage of food, the cold, or the feelings of threat and terror. Although, like other people, the artist wrote about this scarcity of goods and the daily trials and tribulations in his letters, in these works, life appears to be going on as usual in a cheerful atmosphere.

Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

In this picture, we see a woman nursing her child. It is an image of calm and peace. Picasso drew this motif often, partially because he was probably inspired by the birth of his daughter Maya, and partially because the motif of the breastfeeding mother has a history that reaches back many centuries. The most famous version of this type of picture is the Madonna breastfeeding the infant Jesus. Picasso saw himself as following the tradition of the great painters, and he strove to further develop classic subjects like these.

Letters to Picasso

Pablo Picasso did not live an isolated life in Paris. He liked to meet his friends and gallerists. He also corresponded with many people, including some who had gone into exile. In this way, he was able to keep up with how they were doing, or to stay informed, for example, about the major success of his exhibition in the Museum of Modern Art in New York.

Alfred
Barr (1902–1981)

Alfred Barr, the director of the Museum of Modern Art in New York, organized a major

Telegram to Pablo Picasso
December 15, 1939

Daniel-Henry
Kahnweiler (1884–1979)

Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler became Picasso’s gallerist in 1911. Because he was Jewish,

Letter to Pablo Picasso
June 13, 1940

Christian
Zervos (1889–1970)

Picasso’s publisher Christian Zervos published all 33 volumes of Picasso’s catalogue

Letter to Pablo Picasso
August 8, 1940

Berthe
Weill (1865–1951)

The gallerist Berthe Weill also represented Picasso’s works. She had opened her gallery in

Telegram to Pablo Picasso
December 15, 1939

Jeanne
Freundlich (1892 – 1966)

The visual artist and singer Jeanne Freundlich was born Johanna Kloss in Glogau,

Two letters to Pablo Picasso
March 2, 1943

Alfred
Réty (1889–1970)

Alfred Réty managed Picasso’s estate in Normandy, the Castle Boisgeloup, which was about

Letter to Pablo Picasso
July 27, 1944

Roland
Penrose (1900–1984)

Roland Penrose was an artist, writer, and gallerist from London who moved to Paris

Letter to Pablo Picasso
July 27, 1944

Picasso as an Icon
of the Liberation

During the heavy fighting August 19–25 between the French Resistance and the Allied Forces on the one side and the German occupiers on the other, Picasso stayed with his daughter Maya and her mother Marie-Thérèse Walter, so that he could be close to them. On August 25, the day of the final liberation, he returned to his studio. His friend the war photographer Lee Miller and many other photographers rushed there to photograph him. Thanks to these photographs published in the French and international press, Picasso became an artistic icon of the liberation and the world-famous artist that he is today. He also contributed to this image of himself as a quintessential artist who had fought for freedom. Just days after the liberation, he presented works made during the war in his studio, which became a site of pilgrimage for members of the art world, Allied soldiers, and even tourists. Not long after, in October 1944, he also became a member of the French Communist Party. Finally, he was given his own room at the Salon d’Automne, also called Salon de la Libération, to show 74 paintings and five sculptures.

Picasso and Lee Miller in Picasso’s studio

I have not painted the war because I am not the kind of painter who goes out like a photographer for something to depict. But I have no doubt that the war is in these paintings I have done.

Peter D. Whitney, “Picasso is safe,” San Francisco Chronicle, September 3, 1944

Pablo Picasso holding a sculpture of a skull in his studio

In Detail: What Did Picasso
Paint During the War?

Terror and fear were not central elements of Picasso’s pictures. One exception was the painting “Guernica” from 1937 which shows German bombers destroying the Basque town of the same name during the Spanish civil war. The artist otherwise worked tirelessly on the classic genres that had always interested him, like nudes, portraits of women, and still lifes. Yet we still have to wonder: Did the war perhaps affect the forms and colors in his pictures after all? Are the objects in his still lifes (“natures mortes” in French) hints of the shortages due to the war? Are some objects perhaps even meant symbolically? Many interpretations of his impressive still lifes, nudes, and variations of women’s portraits are possible.

Women, Women, Women

Pablo Picasso, Sitzende Frau

Pablo Picasso, Frau in Grau und Weiß

Pablo Picasso, Madame Paul Éluard

A classic female nude?

Pablo Picasso, Großer liegender Akt

In the late 1930s, Picasso returned often to the pictorial language of his Cubist phase, as this picture shows. One reason for this was surely because his publisher Christian Zervos was compiling a catalogue of Picasso’s works and was in the process of finalizing the volume for the years 1906–1912, when the artist developed analytical Cubism. The pointy, fragmented forms and the narrow pictorial space let the painting seem like an outcry against the horrors of war and occupation—against existential fear when faced with terror.

Personal Views

Picasso’s pictures are complex, and they inspire us to think about things from many different perspectives. We asked a few museum visitors to share their views of Picasso’s works. These narratives represent the variety of possible interpretations and express either a personal or historical connection to the Second World War.

My grandmother spent the war years on Java in Indonesia, where her parents were missionaries. She grew up as part of a system in which people believed they were doing good for others, but in reality, they were helping to legitimize colonial exploitation. During the war, the Japanese occupiers established a German school on Java in the middle of a mountain lake, which my grandmother attended. After all, Japan was in a fascist alliance with Germany. The blue in this picture immediately reminded me of the color of that lake. My grandmother would sometimes talk about how beautiful and natural the lake was, and that she swam through it to get to school.

Anonymous

Pablo Picasso, Frauenkopf

When I saw this picture, my first thought was of a Janus figure, the god with two faces. There is not just black and white, but also hues of gray. Many people, myself included, tend to see other people in pictures. I’ve read a lot about Kurt Blanke, who was the mayor of Celle. He was awarded the Meritorious Service Cross, and he served in the military administration in France 1940–1944. From 1942 on, he was one of those responsible for the confiscation of property, primarily the property of Jewish citizens. All of this reads like the clear-cut profile of a perpetrator, and justly so. This was a man who had filed official complaints protesting the pogroms in Berlin in 1938. His argument, which was obviously racist, had been that Germans were above such behavior.

Erik Gohlisch

Pablo Picasso, Frauenkopf mit zwei Profilen

My parents came to the West as “Vertriebene” (expellees) from Silesia. They were ten and eleven years old when the war ended, and they met here when they older. In the last few years, I’ve read several books that have helped me to understand my personal history better, and to understand that there are about 100,000 similar stories. I’m talking about “Kriegsenkel,” or “grandchildren of the Second World War,” whose parents were children when the war ended. Sabine Bode, a journalist from Cologne, wrote that about one-third of all people who were children during the war never dealt with the trauma and fear they experienced during the war.

Anonymous

Pablo Picasso, Männerkopf

I associate this picture with a part of my family history that I have been thinking a lot about for a long time now. My grandmother’s aunt had an affair with an SS officer during the war and got pregnant. Her family was against it, especially because they slaughtered animals illegally on their farm and were afraid the officer might denounce them. So she raised her child alone, until he died of leukemia at the age of nine.

Anonymous

Pablo Picasso, Kind mit Tauben

This picture expresses the ambivalence that can be associated with the time during the war. It shows a completely normal scene that was likely to be found in many homes. We see a table; on it are objects that have probably always been there. At the same time, you notice that there isn’t much there—for example, there’s nothing to eat. To me, this captures the war years from 1939 to 1945 exactly. People had something, but not everything they needed. It wasn’t easy to get everyday necessities—you often had to get them secretly. And you guarded what you had.

Daniela Zimmer

Pablo Picasso, Krug, Kerze und Kasserolle

I come from Congo-Brazzaville in Central Africa. When I think of war, I think of the First World War. My grandfather was a soldier who fought in Germany. That’s why I’m here today. For many years, Africans from many different French colonies were recruited to the Tirailleurs Sénégalais to fight for France. Europe and Africa are closely connected through their shared colonial history, although many people here don’t know that, or they don’t want to know it.

Clarisse Akouala

Pablo Picasso, Stehender Akt

Pablo Picasso, Taube

Kunst im Krieg

Pablo Picasso ist wohl der berühmteste Künstler des 20. Jahrhunderts. Der Inbegriff des unabhängigen Genies, das immer wieder neue Wege in der Kunst beschritt. Ein Verfechter der Freiheit. Ein Pazifist, der 1949 die berühmte Friedenstaube entwarf.

Ein Blick zurück: Von 1939 bis 1945 verwüstet der Zweite Weltkrieg Europa. Frankreich steht seit Juni 1940 unter deutscher Besatzung, zunächst nur der Norden und der Westen, ab November 1942 auch der Süden, wo in Vichy Marschall Philippe Pétain regiert. Die jüdische Bevölkerung wird in beiden Zonen unnachgiebig verfolgt. Die kommunistische Partei arbeitet im Untergrund. Es herrschen Versorgungsengpässe und Nahrungsmittelknappheit. Wie lebt Picasso in diesen Kriegsjahren? Womit setzt er sich in seiner Kunst auseinander? Wie sieht der Alltag des spanischen Künstlers aus, der bei Kriegsausbruch bereits seit über drei Jahrzehnten in Frankreich, hauptsächlich in Paris, wohnt? Hinterlassen die Schrecken jener Jahre Spuren in seinem Leben und seinem Werk?

Warum datiere ich alles, was ich mache? Weil es nicht genügt, die Arbeiten eines Künstlers zu kennen, man muss auch wissen, wie und unter welchen Bedingungen er sie schuf.

Zwischen Paris und Royan

Am 1. September 1939 überfällt die deutsche Wehrmacht Polen. Als Garantiemächte für die Unabhängigkeit des Landes erklären Frankreich und Großbritannien dem Deutschen Reich am 3. September den Krieg. Doch während Polen von den deutschen Truppen überrannt wird, passiert im Westen bis auf einige kleinere Gefechte zunächst nichts. Eine lange, ungewisse Periode des Sitzkriegs beginnt, in Frankreich „Drôle de guerre“ genannt.

Pablo Picasso hat Wohnung und Atelier in Paris. Diese lässt er zurück, als er sich bereits am 29. August 1939 aus Furcht vor den deutschen Luftangriffen mit seiner Lebensgefährtin Dora Maar, seinem Sekretär und seinem Chauffeur in den kleinen südwestfranzösischen Badeort Royan an der Atlantikküste begibt.

Pablo Picasso, Sitzende Frau

Einmarsch der deutschen Wehrmacht in Paris

Leben und Arbeiten unter
deutscher Besatzung

Im Juni 1940 fällt die deutsche Wehrmacht schließlich überraschend in Frankreich ein und besetzt am 14. Juni Paris. Am 25. August 1940 kehrt Picasso aus dem ebenfalls besetzten Royan in die französische Hauptstadt zurück. Seine Wohnung und sein Atelier sind unbeschädigt. Beide hat die Botschaft des faschistischen Spanien erstaunlicherweise unter ihren besonderen Schutz gestellt. Von September 1940 bis Januar 1941 malt Picasso nicht. Es entstehen allein Illustrationen – und sein erstes Drama, „Le Désir attrapé par la queue“ („Wie man Wünsche beim Schwanz packt“).

Die Leute, die seine Bilder von den Museumswänden entfernt hatten, hatten ihm zwar verboten, in Paris auszustellen, aber am Malen konnten sie ihn nicht hindern.

Pablo Picasso, Junge mit Languste

Will Picasso mit dem Bild der nationalsozialistischen Kunstpolitik spotten? Sicher ist, dass im Zweiten Weltkrieg tausende Werke entstehen, obwohl Picasso von den deutschen Besatzern als „entarteter“ Künstler gebrandmarkt wird. Er arbeitet bis auf wenige Monate unablässig.

Gemälde aus dieser Zeit wie „Junge mit Languste“ werfen viele Fragen auf. Grinst der Junge oder lächelt er? Ist die Languste Trophäe oder Waffe? Ein Zeichen des Widerstandes gegen die Besatzer oder eine sexuelle Anspielung? Der deformierte Körper ein Spiegel der Schrecken des Krieges oder einfach überbordender Vitalität? Womöglich können alle Deutungen nebeneinander bestehen.

Picassos Alltag in Paris

Pablo Picassos Leben spielt sich nach seiner endgültigen Rückkehr aus Royan im August 1940 vor allem im Pariser Stadtviertel Saint-Germain-des-Prés ab. Im Januar 1941 gibt er sein Appartement in der Rue La Boétie auf. Es liegt zu weit entfernt von seinem Atelier in der Rue des Grands-Augustins. Dort wohnt er nun auch. Dora Maar lebt ebenfalls in dem Viertel nahe der Seine im Stadtgebiet Rive Gauche, ebenso wie Marie-Thérèse Walter mit der gemeinsamen Tochter Maya. Diese beiden besucht der Künstler jeden Donnerstag und jeden Sonntag. In unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu seinem Atelier befindet sich das Restaurant Le Catalan, wo er oft zu Mittag isst. Fast jeden Abend ist er im Café de Flore anzutreffen, gut zehn Minuten Fußweg von seinem Atelier entfernt. Er findet dort einen „warmen, freundlichen Zufluchtsort“, wie sein Freund, der Fotograf Brassaï, berichtet, und trifft Künstler- und Literatenfreunde. Picasso harrt während der gesamten Zeit der Besetzung von Paris in seinem Atelier aus.

  • 1

    Picassos Atelier

    7 Rue des Grands-Augustins

    Henri Cartier-Bresson, Pablo Picassos Atelier

    Das Atelier in der Rue des Grands-Augustins 7 hält Picasso von Ende 1936 bis 1955. Dort malt er 1937 auch das Gemälde „Guernica“. Nach dem Krieg lebt der Künstler vorwiegend in Südfrankreich und nutzt das Atelier nur während seiner Aufenthalte in Paris. Hier links im Bild der Gips von „Mann mit Schaf“.

  • 2

    Restaurant Le Catalan

    16 Rue des Grands-Augustins

    Pablo Picasso, Das Buffet des Catalan Paris

    Regelmäßig isst Picasso im Restaurant Le Catalan mit Dora Maar. Dort treffen die beiden Freunde wie Nusch und Paul Éluard und andere Schriftsteller. Der Wirt besorgt die Lebensmittel auf dem Schwarzmarkt. So sind die Kirschen, die hier in der Obstschale liegen, während der Besatzungszeit eine Delikatesse. Fleisch ist wegen der Lebensmittelknappheit nur an bestimmten Tagen erlaubt. Angeblich werden Picasso und seine Freunde im November 1943 dabei erwischt, wie sie im Le Catalan an einem offiziell fleischlosen Tag Châteaubriand speisen. Eine Geldstrafe wird fällig und das Restaurant einen Monat lang geschlossen. 1943 lernt der Künstler dort die Malerin Françoise Gilot kennen, seine neue Lebensgefährtin.

  • 3

    Wohnung von Dora Maar

    6 Rue de Savoie

    Brassaï, Dora Maar in ihrem Atelier

    Picasso lernt Dora Maar 1935 über den Dichter Paul Éluard kennen, der wie sie zum Kreis der Pariser Surrealisten gehört. Der Fotografin und Malerin hat zunächst für Mode und Werbung gearbeitet und sich, politisch links engagiert, gleichzeitig der sozialen Straßenfotografie gewidmet. Dann wendet sie sich der surrealistischen Fotografie zu und schafft einige der eindrücklichsten fotografischen Arbeiten des Surrealismus. 1937 dokumentiert Dora Maar die Entstehung von Picassos „Guernica“. Die Beziehung mit ihm besteht bis 1943. In dieser Zeit gibt sie die Fotografie zugunsten der Malerei auf.

  • 4

    Wohnung von Marie-Thérèse Walter und der gemeinsamen Tochter Maya, ab Frühjahr 1941

    1, Boulevard Henri IV

    1927 begegnet Picasso der siebzehnjährigen Marie-Thérèse Walter in den Galeries Lafayettes. Sie wird sein Modell und seine heimliche Lebensgefährtin. Picasso lebt noch mit seiner Ehefrau Olga Koklowa zusammen. 1935 wird die gemeinsame Tochter Maya geboren.

  • 5

    Le Vert-Galant

    15 Place du Pont Neuf

    Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

    Le Vert-Galant ist ein kleiner Park auf der Seine-Insel Île de la Cité zu Füßen eines Reiterdenkmals Henris IV, das hier im Bild zu sehen ist. Picasso geht oft dort und am Ufer der Seine mit seinem Hund Kazbek spazieren. Es entstehen viele landschaftliche Szenen – Ölgemälde, Zeichnungen und Aquarelle.

Ausschnitt: Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

Le Vert-Galant: Im Detail

In der kleinen Grünanlage Le Vert-Galant an der nordwestlichen Spitze der Pariser Île de la Cité beobachtet Picasso Szenen des Alltags. Er hält diese in Skizzen und Bildern fest. Darin findet sich nichts vom grauen Paris unter der deutschen Besatzung, das Zeitzeugen schildern, nichts von Nahrungsmittelknappheit, Kälte, Bedrohung und Schrecken. Auch der Künstler berichtet in seiner Korrespondenz über den Mangel und die alltäglichen Beschwernisse. Hier jedoch scheint das Leben in heiterer Atmosphäre ganz normal weiterzugehen.

Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

Pablo Picasso, Le Vert-Galant

Eine Frau stillt ihr Kind – ein Bild der Ruhe und des Friedens. Picasso hat das Motiv häufig gezeichnet, sicher angeregt durch die Geburt seiner Tochter Maya. Darüber hinaus hat die Darstellung der stillenden Mutter eine jahrhundertealte Geschichte. Berühmteste Ausprägung des Bildtypus ist die das Christuskind stillende Madonna. Picasso sieht sich in der Tradition der großen Maler und entwickelt die klassischen Sujets weiter.

Wegbegleiter

Pablo Picasso lebt in Paris nicht isoliert. Er trifft sich mit Freundinnen und Freunden, Galeristinnen und Galeristen. Mit vielen – auch mit denjenigen, die ins Exil gegangen sind – steht er in Briefkontakt. So erhält er Informationen über ihre Lebensumstände oder erfährt vom großen Erfolg seiner Ausstellung im New Yorker Museum of Modern Art.

Alfred
Barr (1902–1981)

Alfred Barr, der Direktor des Museums of Modern Art in New York, richtet Picasso im November

Telegramm an Pablo Picasso
15. Dezember 1939

Daniel-Henry
Kahnweiler (1884–1979)

Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler ist seit 1911 Picassos Galerist. Als Jude muss er sich unter der deutschen

Brief an Pablo Picasso
13. Juni 1940

Christian
Zervos (1889–1970)

Christian Zervos ist der Verleger Picassos und erstellt dessen Werkverzeichnis in 33 Bänden.

Brief an Pablo Picasso
8. August 1940

Berthe
Weill (1865–1951)

Die Galeristin Berthe Weill handelt mit Werken Picassos. Bereits 1901 hat sie in Paris ihre

Telegramm an Pablo Picasso
15. Dezember 1939

Jeanne
Freundlich (1892 – 1966)

Die bildende Künstlerin und Sängerin Jeanne Freundlich wird als Johanna Kloss in Glogau

Zwei Briefe an Pablo Picasso
2. März 1943

Alfred
Réty (1889–1970)

Picassos Verwalter Alfred Réty betreut das Anwesen Schloss Boisgeloup in der Normandie

Brief an Pablo Picasso
27. Juli 1944

Roland
Penrose (1900–1984)

Der Künstler, Schriftsteller und Galerist Roland Penrose stammt aus London und zieht 1922 nach

Brief an Pablo Picasso
27. Juli 1944

Picasso als Ikone
der Befreiung

Während der heftigen Kämpfe des französischen Widerstands und alliierter Kräften mit den deutschen Besatzern vom 19. bis zum 25. August hält sich Picasso bei Marie-Thérèse Walter und Tochter Maya auf, um bei ihnen zu sein. Am 25. August, dem Tag der endgültigen Befreiung, geht er zurück in sein Atelier. Unmittelbar danach porträtieren ihn dort die befreundete Kriegsfotografin Lee Miller und viele andere. Die Fotos werden in der nationalen wie der internationalen Presse veröffentlicht, die Picasso zur künstlerischen Ikone der Befreiung erhebt. Pablo Picasso wird zu dem weltbekannten Künstler, der er heute ist. Er selbst hat selbst großen Anteil an der Inszenierung seiner Person als Inbegriff des Künstlers, der für die Freiheit gekämpft hat. Nur wenige Tage nach der Befreiung präsentiert er seine im Krieg entstandenen Werke im Atelier, in das die Kunstwelt, alliierte Soldaten und sogar Touristen pilgern. Im Oktober 1944 wird er Mitglied der Kommunistischen Partei Frankreichs. Im Salon d’Automne – dem „Salon de la Libération“ – bekommt Picasso einen eigenen Raum und zeigt dort 74 Gemälde und fünf Skulpturen.

Lee Miller, Picasso und Lee Miller im Atelier des Künstlers

Ich habe nicht den Krieg gemalt, weil ich nicht zu der Sorte von Malern gehöre, die wie ein Fotograf etwas darzustellen suchen. Aber ich bin sicher, dass der Krieg Eingang genommen hat in die Bilder, die ich geschaffen habe.

Peter D. Whitney, „Picasso is safe“, in: San Franciso Chronicle, 3.9.1944

Robert Capa, Pablo Picasso mit seinem Werk Totenschädel

Im Detail:
Was malte Picasso im Krieg?

Picasso widmet sich in seinen Bildern nicht vordergründig dem Terror und dem Schrecken. Das Gemälde „Guernica“ von 1937, mit dem er den Luftangriff deutscher Bomber auf das gleichnamige baskische Städtchen im Spanischen Bürgerkrieg anklagt, bleibt singulär. Der Künstler arbeitet an den klassischen Gattungen weiter, die ihn immer schon beschäftigen, wie Akt, Frauenporträt und Stillleben. Aber beeinflusst der Krieg die Form- und Farbgebung dieser Bilder? Spiegeln die Gegenstände der „Natures mortes“ den Mangel? Sind manche gar symbolisch zu verstehen? Die eindrucksvollen Stillleben, Akte oder Variationen von Frauenbildnissen bieten verschiedene Deutungen an.

Frauen, Frauen, Frauen

Pablo Picasso, Sitzende Frau

Pablo Picasso, Frau in Grau und Weiß

Pablo Picasso, Madame Paul Éluard

Ein klassischer Frauenakt?

Pablo Picasso, Großer liegender Akt

Picasso greift in dieser Aktdarstellung auf die Bildsprache seiner kubistischen Phase zurück – wie so oft seit Ende der 1930er Jahre. Einer der Gründe liegt sicher darin, dass sein Verleger Christian Zervos, Verfasser von Picassos Werkverzeichnis, gerade den Band der Jahre 1906 bis 1912 abschließt, in denen der Künstler den analytischen Kubismus entwickelte. Die spitzen, zersplitterten Formen und der enge Bildraum lassen das Gemälde aber auch als Anklage gegen die Schrecken von Krieg und Besatzung, gegen die existentielle Angst angesichts des Terrors erscheinen.

Der persönliche Blick

Picassos Bilder sind komplex - sie regen zur Auseinandersetzung aus ganz unterschiedlichen Perspektiven an. Wir haben Menschen eingeladen, ihren eigenen Blick auf seine Werke zu werfen. Verknüpft mit persönlichen oder historischen Bezügen zum Zweiten Weltkrieg stehen diese Erzählungen beispielhaft für die Vielzahl der Deutungen.

Meine Großmutter verbrachte die Kriegsjahre auf Java in Indonesien. Sie war dort als Tochter von Missionarinnen und Missionaren aufgewachsen, also eingebunden in ein System, das von sich selbst vielleicht dachte, etwas Gutes zu tun, tatsächlich aber dazu beitrug, koloniale Ausbeutung zu legitimieren. Während des Krieges haben die japanischen Besatzerinnen und Besatzer auf Java an einem Bergsee eine deutsche Schule eingerichtet, zu der dann auch meine Oma ging. Schließlich war Japan in einem faschistischen Bündnis mit Deutschland.

Anonym

Pablo Picasso, Frauenkopf

Bei dem Bild dachte ich zuerst an die Janusfigur, eine zweiköpfige Gottheit. Es gibt nicht nur Schwarz und Weiß, sondern auch Grautöne. Viele, ich auch, tendieren dazu, andere Menschen in ein Bild einzuordnen. Ich habe mich intensiv mit Kurt Blanke beschäftigt. Er war Bürgermeister von Celle, Träger des Bundesverdienstkreuzes und 1940 – 44 als Beamter in Frankreich. Seit 1942 war er mitverantwortlich für die Enteignungen dort, insbesondere von jüdischen Menschen. Das liest sich als eindeutige Täterbiografie – zu Recht. 1938 hatte dieser Mensch noch Beschwerde gegen die Pogrome in Berlin eingelegt. Sein durchaus rassistisches Argument: Deutsche verhalten sich nicht so unmenschlich.

Erik Gohlisch

Pablo Picasso, Frauenkopf mit zwei Profilen

Meine Eltern kamen als Vertriebene aus Schlesien in den Westen. Bei Kriegsende waren sie zehn und elf Jahre alt und lernten sich später hier kennen. In den letzten Jahren habe ich einige Bücher gelesen, die mir halfen, meine persönliche Entwicklung besser zu verstehen – auch, dass es da 100.000 ähnliche Geschichten gibt. Da ist die Rede von „Kriegsenkeln“, also von Menschen, deren Eltern bei Kriegsende Kinder waren. Die Kölner Journalistin Sabine Bode beschreibt, dass etwa ein Drittel der Kriegskinder es nie geschafft haben, die traumatischen Schrecken des Krieges zu verarbeiten.

Anonym

Pablo Picasso, Männerkopf

Ich verbinde das Bild mit einem Teil meiner Familiengeschichte, der mich schon lange umtreibt. Die Tante meiner Oma hatte während des Krieges eine Liebesbeziehungen mit einem SS-Offizier und wurde auch von ihm schwanger. Ihre Familie war damals nicht einverstanden damit, insbesondere, weil auf dem Hof illegal geschlachtet wurde und sie Angst hatten, dass der Offizier sie verraten könnte. Darum hat sie das Kind allein großgezogen, bis es im Alter von neun Jahren an Leukämie starb.

Anonym

Pablo Picasso, Kind mit Tauben

Für mich drückt das Bild die Ambivalenz aus, die mit der Kriegszeit einhergehen kann. Es zeigt eine völlig normale Szene, wie sie wahrscheinlich in sehr vielen Häusern zu finden war. Ein Tisch, auf dem Dinge stehen, die wahrscheinlich immer da stehen. Gleichzeitig fällt auf, dass es wenig ist, zum Beispiel nichts zu essen. Das spiegelt für mich die Kriegsjahre 1939 – 1945 ganz gut wider: Es war etwas da, aber nicht alles, was man brauchte. Die Wege, an die Dinge des täglichen Bedarfs zu kommen, waren nicht einfach, oft geheim. Was man hatte, wurde gut gehütet.

Daniela Zimmer

Pablo Picasso, Krug, Kerze und Kasserolle

Ich komme aus Kongo-Brazzaville in Zentralafrika, und bei Kriegen denke ich an den Ersten Weltkrieg. Mein Großvater hat damals in Deutschland als Soldat gekämpft. Deswegen bin ich heute hier. Unter den Tirailleurs Sénégalais wurden über viele Jahre afrikanische Menschen verschiedener französischer Kolonien zusammengefasst, um für Frankreich in den Krieg zu ziehen. Durch die Geschichte des Kolonialismus sind Europa und Afrika eng verbunden, was viele Menschen hier nicht wissen oder wissen wollen.

Clarisse Akouala

Pablo Picasso, Stehender Akt