Collection Highlights

The Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Archive

Information
Tel +49 (0)211 8381-204
service@kunstsammlung.de

The Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Archive

In 2014, when the Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen acquired the Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Collection, a large number of works and an archive were also donated to the museum. The archive includes business correspondence, letters from artists, photographs, and printed materials that once belonged to Galerie Konrad Fischer.

Konrad Fischer (1939–1996) studied art with Gerhard Richter and Sigmar Polke at the Academy of Art in Düsseldorf before he decided to open a gallery for contemporary art together with his wife Dorothee (1937–2015) in 1967. In a small passageway, which he remodeled and enclosed, on Neubrückstraße in the old town of Düsseldorf, he hosted exhibitions of young international artists. Galerie Fischer presented Minimal and Conceptual Art, and it quickly became one of the pioneers of the European avant-garde in which site-specific works, institutional critique, and questions about authorship expanded the traditional notion of the artwork. The gallery also showed artists such as Lawrence Weiner and Sol LeWitt, who occasionally even left the execution of a work entirely in the hands of someone else. With the increasing disintegration of the boundaries between document and work, the differences between collection and archive also began to blur. This indistinguishability is what defines the structure of the Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Collection and Archive.

Thanks to the help of the Zentralarchiv für deutsche und internationale Kunstmarktforschung (Central Archive for the Research of the German and International Art Market, ZADIK) in Cologne, the Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Archive is now catalogued and completely digitized. Researchers can now access the digital archive, along with other major collections of modern art history, at the ZADIK. The originals, which are permanently stored in a room in K21 designed specifically for this purpose, can be viewed in continually changing thematic presentations that also relate to the museum’s collection.

Take a look at the collection

Card image cap

The artists

Card image cap

New acquisitions

Card image cap

The Dorothee and Konrad Fischer Archive

Highlights der Sammlung

Archiv Dorothee und Konrad Fischer

Informationen
Tel +49 (0)211 8381-204
service@kunstsammlung.de

Archiv Dorothee und Konrad Fischer

2014 gelangte im Zuge von Ankauf und Schenkung der Sammlung von Dorothee und Konrad Fischer auch das Archiv in die Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen. Im Archiv sind Geschäfts- und Künstlerkorrespondenz, Fotografien und Materialsammlungen der Galerie Fischer vereint.

Konrad Fischer (1939–1996) studierte zunächst mit Gerhard Richter und Sigmar Polke an der Düsseldorfer Kunstakademie bis er sich 1967 entschied, mit seiner Frau Dorothee (1937–2015) eine Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst zu eröffnen. In der Neubrückstraße in der Düsseldorfer Altstadt richtete er in einer kleinen umgebauten Toreinfahrt Ausstellungen junger internationaler Künstler ein. Minimal Art und Konzeptkunst wurden hier vermittelt, schon bald gehörte die Galerie Fischer zu den Vorreitern der europäischen Avantgardekunst. Ortsspezifische Arbeiten, Institutionskritik und Fragen der Autorschaft erweiterten den klassischen Werkbegriff. Künstler wie Lawrence Weiner oder Sol LeWitt haben bisweilen ganz auf die Ausführung eines Werkes verzichtet. Mit den Grenzen von Dokument und Werk verschwammen die Grenzen zwischen Sammlung und Archiv. Die Ununterscheidbarkeit macht die Struktur der Sammlung und des Archivs von Dorothee und Konrad Fischer aus. 

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Zentralarchiv für deutsche und internationale Kunstmarktforschung (ZADIK) in Köln konnte das Archiv von Dorothee und Konrad Fischer erfasst und vollständig digitalisiert werden. Forscherinnen und Forschern steht in den Räumlichkeiten des ZADIK das digitale Archiv im Zusammenhang mit weiteren umfassenden Beständen zur Kunstgeschichte der Moderne zur Verfügung. Im K21 werden die Originale in einem dauerhaft hierfür eingerichteten Raum aufbewahrt und in ständig wechselnden Präsentationen unter immer neuen Gesichtspunkten befragt und im Zusammenspiel mit der Sammlung ausgestellt.

Blick in die Sammlung

Card image cap

Künstlerinnen und Künstler

Card image cap

Neuerwerbungen

Card image cap

Archiv Dorothee und Konrad Fischer